National Film Awards 2017: Sonam And Akshay Receive Award From Pranab Mukherjee

The coveted evening for National Film Awards became more special for the actors and other winners as they received awards from President Pranab Mukherjee. Apart from Pranab Mukherjee, Information and Broadcasting Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu and Mos Col. Rajyavardhan Rathore were also present at the award ceremony, which took place in New Delhi on 3 May, 2017. Not just Hindi films, regional movies also got appreciated and the best ones got honored with the awards.

Askhay Kumar won the Best Actor award for his patriotic movie Rustom while Malayalam actress Surabhi Lakshmi won the Best Actress award for her film Minnaminungu-The Firefly. Sonam Kapoor got special mention for her real life movie Neerja. K Viswanath received Dadasaheb Phalke Award for his special contribution in the entertainment industry as a filmmaker. Young actress Zaira Wasim bagged Best Supporting Actress award for her portrayal of Geeta Phogat in Dangal.


Not just the winners, but their family members were also too excited for the event. Twinkle Khanna, Akshay Kumar’s son Aarav and Anil Kapoor were also in full spirit and cheered their family members when they were facilitated with the awards. Anil Kapoor’s excitement could be seen from the way he kept clicking pictures when his daughter received award for playing Neerja Bhanot in the movie Neerja.


The ceremony was summarized with the Special Mention in feature film category. Adil Hussain won award for his two films – Mukti Bhawan (Hindi) and Maj Rati Keteki (Assamese).

Marathi film Kasav bagged the Best Feature Film award while Amitabh Bachchan and Tapsi Pannu starrer Pink won Best Film on Social Issues award. Priyanka Chopra’s first venture as producer, Marathi film Ventilator took home three National Awards.


After receiving his first National Award, Akshay Kumar took it to Twitter to share his happiness and his gratitude for his fans. He wrote, “No words can do justice to the joy I feel at this moment…sharing with you all my first ever #NationalFilmAward!Thank you for the love ”

Here is the complete list of winners of 64th National Film Awards:

Best Actor: Akshay Kumar for Rustom (Hindi film)

Best Actress: Surabhi C M for Minnaminungu-The Firefly (Malayalam film)

Best Special Effects: Shivaay (Hindi film)

Best Editing and Sound Mixing: Ventilator (Marathi film)

Best Hindi film: Neerja

Best film on social issue: PINK (Hindi film)

Best Screenplay (original): Syam Pushkaran (Maheshinte Prathikaram)

Best Screenplay (adapted): Sanjay Krishnaji patel (Dashakriya)

Best Children Film: Dhanak

Best Director: Rajesh Mapuskar for Ventilator

Best Supporting Artist: Zaira Wasim for Dangal

Best male playback: Sundar Ayyar for Joker (Tamil film)

Best female playback: Praktan (Bengali film)

Best cinematographer for Tamil film: 24

Best Costume: Marathi film Cycle

Best Guajarati Film: Wrong Side Raju

Stunt Choreographer: Peter Hein for Puli Murugan

Best Regional Feature Film (Telugu): Pelli Choopulu

Best VFX: 24 (Tamil film)

Best Production Design: 24

Best Make-up Artist: MK Ramakrishna

Best Music Direction: Babu Padmanabha

Best Non-Feature film: Fireflies in the Abyss

Best Short Fiction: Aaba

Best Educational Film: The Waterfall

Best Book On Cinema: Lata Surgatha

Best Biographical/Historical reconstruction: Zikr Uss Parivash Ka

Best Marathi film: Kasaav

Best Tamil Film: Joker

Best Malayalam Film: Maheshinte Prathikaaram

Best Kannada Film: Reservation


Sonam Kapoor for Neerja (Hindi)
Adil Hussain for Mukti Bhawan (Hindi) and Maj Rati Keteki (Assamese) Producer Red Carper Moving Pictures and director Shubhashish
Bhutiani for Mukti Bhawan (Hindi) Producer Eleeanora Images Private Ltd and director Nila
Madhab Panda for Kadvi Hawa (Hindi)